top of page

Writing Contest Winners Announced!

The members of the Irish Cultural Society and the members of the H.W. Wilson Foundation are pleased to announce and congratulate the First Place winners of the 2021 Martin J. Kelly Writing Contest:

  • Max McConville, Oyster Bay High School

  • Taylor Wolfe, H. Frank Carey High School

  • Madeline Rose, Wantagh High School

A complete listing of all winners can be seen by clicking here.

All participants in this year's contest received a Certificate of Merit, and each school's library represented by our participants receives a copy of The Immortal Irishman, by Timothy Egan, which is a biography of Thomas Francis Meager.

This year, our contest challenged students to compose an essay in which the writer identifies him/herself through references to indicators or emblems of the writer’s heritage or interests. A model of such an essay of identity, The Meaning of Irishness by George E. Ryan. Click here to view Mr. Ryan's essay.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page